The 5 Different Classes of Pulmonary Hypertension


5 classes pulmonary hypertension

The following are the 5 different classes of pulmonary hypertension. For a detailed overview of each class, click on the link: 


  • Arterial PH: Pulmonary arterial hypertension (PAH) involves abnormally high blood pressure (hypertension) in the pulmonary artery.
  • Venous PH: Pulmonary venous hypertension (PVH) differs from PAH in that high blood pressure occurs when the heart can’t efficiently carry blood away from the lungs.
  • Thromboembolic PHWhen thromboembolic pulmonary hypertension becomes chronic, it causes severe pulmonary hypertension.  Unfortunately, this form of PH is often under-diagnosed.
  • Miscellaneous PH: In 2008, the miscellaneous pulmonary hypertension category was expanded to include the “other” category associated with PAH.  This allows for recognition of complex and poorly understood links between systemic disorders, blood disorders, metabolic disorders and other medical issues and PAH.


Read the latest updates on pulmonary hypertension:

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 4 / 5. Vote count: 1

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *