Pulmonary Hypertension News Forums Forums BioNews Content 30 Days of PH 2022 Day 9 of #30DaysofPH: A PAH Diagnosis Raises So Many Questions

• Day 9 of #30DaysofPH: A PAH Diagnosis Raises So Many Questions

Posted by Kevin Schaefer on November 10, 2022 at 9:00 am

Erik Born spent a few years dealing with shortness of breath, but he thought it was just his asthma acting up. Then in 2020, he received a diagnosis of pulmonary arterial hypertension. He then had numerous questions about the disease and where he would go from this point in his life.

He writes, “I was 52 when I had a right heart catheterization and was told I had pulmonary arterial hypertension (PAH). I thought to myself, how? Why? Now what? I worked out, watched what I ate, and what the hell is PAH? As a nurse, my wife, Donna,  knew, but she waited until after the follow-up appointment to talk to me about it.”

Read the full story here.

Can you relate to Erik’s story? How do you process your daily life with PH?

Pulmonary Hypertension News’ 30 Days of PH campaign will publish one story per day for PH Awareness Month in November. Follow us on Facebook and Instagram for more stories like this, using the hashtag #30DaysofPH, or read the full series.

Colleen replied 1 year, 5 months ago 3 Members · 4 Replies
  • 4 Replies
  • Colleen

November 10, 2022 at 6:11 pm

@erikborn thank you so much for sharing part of your story with us through “30 Days of PH”.

I can’t imagine how emotionally difficult it must have been for your wife to sit through that follow-up appointment, understanding as much as she did because of her nursing experience, and realizing the tough conversation she would have with you on your way home.

How many of us can relate to the, “Now what” question Erik ends his story with?

• jen-cueva

November 11, 2022 at 2:42 pm