• Looking for some answers and to share my story.

Posted by Shawn on January 21, 2020 at 8:03 pm

Hi guys I’m Shawn I’m 31 and was diagnosed with pulmonary arterial hypertension a little over a year ago. I had open heart surgery at 3 years old and the doctors estimate this is the cause.
    Before I was diagnosed I smoked quite heavily and drank sometimes twice a week, I guess you could say I was quite the party animal. I’ve slowed it down since but still haven’t kicked smoking fully unfortunately I’m off and on at times I drink less but still do.
    I’m not very active besides my job I’m A plumber and it’s fairly demanding at times.
    most nights I’m playing video games or watching movies with my girlfriend to relax so not all that active. Before my diagnosis I was getting very
    bad, 4 flights of stairs and I basically needed to stop.
    heart was pounding,legs were heavy out of breath, etc.
    I was put on adcirca and volibris. I guess I went through a total denial period where I believed this could be beat, I didn’t want to believe I would never be the same again.