Pulmonary Hypertension News Forums Forums Life Challenges Working With PH Asking for Workplace Accomodations

• Sandra Guajardo

February 17, 2020 at 2:49 pm

Hello,
    I work full time as a financial analyst (desk job). Since over a month ago I’ve requested workplace accommodations. They consisted of having a flexible work schedule (if I felt sick and arrived late to work, if I could make up the hours later in the week), be able to work from home two days out of the week, and have a sofa in my office to be able to take breaks. Our place of employment allows two 15 minutes breaks during the day (one in the morning and one in the afternoon). My primary doctor filled out the forms stating the same items. I just received notification from Human Resources that tomorrow they are providing a footstool. My supervisors have advised Human Resources they are okay with my requests and that they will purchase the sofa and still HR will not even approve the sofa. Are there any resources that can assist us in requesting workplace accommodations? I just don’t think they understand the seriousness of PAH, even after I showed them my Veletri pump.

• Colleen

February 17, 2020 at 4:43 pm

@sandra-guajardoutrgv-edu this is such an important topic. Thank you for opening up the discussion with your own experience.

My son is in college and hasn’t held a full time job as of yet so I don’t really have experience to share. I do have a thought though…do you order your Veletri supplies from Accredo by any chance? If you do, reach out to their customer service center because they might have good advice for you and possibly even be able to help you communicate with your HR department.

When my son was in grade school and on IV Flolan, an accredo nurse came met with his teachers and staff every year to explain PH, the treatments and his needs. I realize this is “work” but since they don’t seem to be listening to you, maybe you will need to go to this extent to accomplish some understanding.