• vanessa-vaile

June 6, 2019 at 12:02 pm

Joining the PHA Facebook groups to facilitate sharing would be another good starting point. Also I can’t help but think making common cause with related (pulmonary, cardiac, etc) other rare groups would increase numbers and with that reach and potential influence. I’ve been doing online advocacy for 20 years now and have learned that when elections around the corner, politicians count voters.

PS did you know that, starting with the question mark all the way to the end, you can trim URLs from newsletters and email alerts? That extra code, aka garbage code, is on there for tracking purposes.

• Colleen

June 6, 2019 at 12:12 pm

Vanessa, thank you for the additional advocacy information! Most of all, thank you for being an active advocate for 20 years! I hope more people follow in your footsteps.

No, I did not know that about the URL’s! That is knowledge I will put to use from now on. I edited the post…much better. Thank you!

• vanessa-vaile

June 6, 2019 at 12:03 pm
    • brittany-foster

June 6, 2019 at 4:31 pm

Thanks so much for this information. I was actually just participating in an online poll about social media use and advocacy for rare diseases and I ranked Facebook as being one of the top social media outlets to raise awareness. Others that I included were Instagram and Twitter. I have made a lot of amazing connections through these sites and they reach across all age groups. I also use Facebook and some of the pages that I am an admin of to raise awareness and education! That’s so important. As Colleen said, thank you for being a part of advocating for the last 20 years. That’s incredible.

• jen-cueva

June 6, 2019 at 8:17 pm