This topic contains 6 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Kathleen Sheffer 1 year, 5 months ago.

• Author
     Ann Goddeyne 
    Participant

Is anyone using liquid oxygen? Does Medicare cover this? I am just reaching 65. My oxygen needs increased beyond that of my portable concentrator. I am considering switching to liquid oxygen. Will be starting Medicare in July. Thanks

Kathleen Sheffer 
    Participant

Hi Anne, I used liquid oxygen before my transplant. I’m pretty sure my tanks only went up to 6 liters, though. I’m not an expert, but I think Medicare should cover it, especially if your doctor prescribes liquid oxygen specifically. I found liquid oxygen to be much less drying so I hope you are able to use it!

Brittany Foster 
    Keymaster

I would say to definitely check with your oxygen providers too for this. I use a company for my oxygen that doesn’t provide liquid oxygen. They use the condensed oxygen tanks ( usually I end up taking a few at a time with me when I go out in case they run out). It’s challenging when the POC only goes up to a certain amount and runs out quickly when on continuous flow. I hope they find something that works better for you and that is covered. I would talk with the oxygen provider about this. They probably know the ins and outs about the insurance too.

Dennis smith 
    Participant

Ann, I have been on lquid for two years. Portable compact T goes up to 10 liters. Weighs 10 lbs full, I made a backpack. Problem is getting liquid outside your carriers area! Companies are trying abd have reduced the number of users. Because it is to expensive fir them to service..

At 8 liters I can get 2.5 hours of time out of one tank.. Hope that helps,, and yes it is covered

Kathleen Sheffer 
    Participant

Thanks for your response, Dennis. I also had some difficulties getting liquid oxygen delivered while traveling – takes a lot of planning and nagging of the companies so I ultimately opted for a portable concentrator.